The first Episcopal service in Little Fort, Illinois occurred in February 1845 when Fr. Isaac Hallom, Rector of St. James Church, Chicago traveled to Little Fort where he read vespers, preached and baptized an infant child of Irish immigrants. The formal organization of Christ Church began on February 7, 1846. Various locations served the church's needs until the construction of a permanent building at Grand Avenue and Utica Street in 1850. At the time, this was the north side of Waukegan. On March 31, 1849, the residents had changed the name of Little Fort to Waukegan. Bishop Philander Chase consecrated the first church building on May 13, 1851.
Our present church, built in 1888, is Richardsonian Romanesque architecture with Gothic features - pointed arches over the doorways, large front window and openings in the bell tower. Beautiful stained glass memorial windows adorn each side of the church. The large front window known as the baptismal window depicts Christ and the children. The pews are oak with cherry trim. The church's exterior is Carbondale brownstone. Bishop William G. McLaren consecrated the structure on January 31, 1889.
Our Parish House, constructed in 1903 to meet the growing needs of Christ Church and the Waukegan community, serves as our administration building and fellowship hall. We also have a beautiful chapel attached to the main church, The Chapel of Our Lady, which has been described as a Gothic gem.
Church Exterior and Interior
Photos of the Exterior of the Buildings and Interior pictures of the Church and Chapel